What are the different forms of double uterus?

The two main forms of double uterus are called septate uterus and bicornuate uterus. It is very important to make the distinction between the two types of double uteri because only the uterine septum can be corrected relatively simply using hysteroscopy. The shape of the outer surface of the uterus is the discriminating feature that distinguishes between the two – with a septate uterus, the outer contour of the womb is smooth whereas with a bicornuate uterus, it is markedly indented. A third form of double uterus is the didelphys uterus, but in this case there is also a duplication of the neck of the womb (or cervix).